Created by Rotaract Larnaca Kition © Rotary International.

Paul P. Harris, an attorney, wanted to create a professional group with the same friendly spirit he felt in the small towns of his youth. On 23 February 1905, Harris, Gustavus Loehr, Silvester Schiele, and Hiram Shorey gathered at Loehr’s office in Room 711 of the Unity Building in downtown Chicago. This was the first Rotary club meeting. They decided to call the new club “Rotary” after the practice of rotating meeting locations.

Within five years clubs had formed across the country, from San Francisco to New York.

In August 1910, Rotarians held their first convention in Chicago. The 16 clubs that existed at that time united to form the National Association of Rotary Clubs.

In 1912, the name changed to International Association of Rotary Clubs to reflect the addition of clubs in other countries. The name Rotary International was adopted in 1922.

By July 1925, Rotary had grown to more than 2,000 clubs and an estimated 108,000 members  on six continents.

Rotary’s reputation attracted presidents, prime ministers, and a host of other luminaries to its ranks — among them author Thomas Mann, diplomat Carlos P. Romulo, and composer Jean Sibelius.

As Rotary grew, members pooled their resources and used their talents to serve their communities. The organization's dedication to this ideal is best expressed in its motto: Service Above Self.


In 1932, Rotarian Herbert J. Taylor created The Four-Way Test. The test, which has been translated into more than 100 languages, asks the following questions:

Of the things we think, say or do

Is it the TRUTH?

Is it FAIR to all concerned?


Will it be BENEFICIAL to all concerned?


The Rotary Club of Lynchburg - Morning was chartered in June of 1987 with help from members of the Lynchburg Noon Club.  Since inception we have sought to bring together business & professional leaders in Lynchburg to provide humanitarian services, encourage high ethical standards in all vocations, and advance goodwill & peace around the world by reflecting the Rotary motto of "Service Above Self".


Engaged Members


Raised Annually to Support Various Charitable Causes both Local & International


Community Service Opportunities within the club itself


Roger Ingram - 1987-1988

Knight Smiley - 1988-1989

Rich Stallings - 1989-1990

Carl Dewitt - 1990-1991

Joe DeMato - 1991-1992

David Shields - 1992-1993

Meg Hibbert - 1993-1994

Paul Rogosienski - 1994-1995

Bruce Royer - 1995-1996

Dan Grabeel - 1996-1997

Ford Mays - 1997-1998

Paul Feinman - 1998-1999

Jim Hunter - 1999-2000

Tom Jennings - 2000-2001

Jim Hines - 2001-2002

John Cook - 2002-2003

Billy Flint - 2003-2004

Ron Jefferson - 2004-2005

Kathy Graves - 2005-2006

Karl Biesemier - 2006-2007

Bill Bodine - 2007-2008

John Stone - 2008-2009

Robert Brooks - 2009-2010

Mark Varah - 2010-2011

Mike Lewis - 2011-2012

Randy Blake - 2012-2013

James LaPrade - 2013-2014

Chad Mooney - 2014-2015

Tracey Dixon - 2015-2016

Paul Rothfuss - 2016-2017

Aaron Van Allen - 2017-2018

LaShonda Delivuk - 2018-2019

Jessica Clarkson (Current President) - 2019-2020

Jessica Arrington (President-Elect) - 2020-2021